You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Intellectual Freedom Committee
  • Keeps abreast of statewide and national issues and challenges.
  • Gathers and disseminates information to the membership.
  • Serves as a clearinghouse and source of information for libraries seeking assistance.
  • Promotes intellectual freedom by actively contacting library and school officials where materials or procedures have been challenged, offering the assistance of the ILA membership.
  • Raises awareness and provides continuing education activities.
  • Selects the Intellectual Freedom Award winner.
  • Provides leadership and assistance in access and privacy for electronic information.

Committee membership is not more than ten personal members from diverse types of library settings.  Members serve a two-year, staggered term.  Chair is appointed by the vice president/president-elect of ILA for one year.

2014-2015 Chair

Melissa Rice (term on committee 2012-2014) 
Frankfort Public Library District
21119 S. Pfeiffer Rd.
Frankfort, IL  60423-9301
phone:  815-469-2423
fax:  815-469-9307
e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Lenora Berendt 2014-2016
Jeremy Dunn  2013-2015
Heidi Knuth 2014-2016
Maria F. Meachum 2014-2016
Sudan Prokopeak 2014-2016
Roger A. Ritzman  2013-2015
Lisa J. Waskin 2014-2016

Board Liaison

Jeremy Dunn