Nominating Committee

Develops an annual slate of candidates for the Executive Board, including vice president/president-elect and ALA councilor (every four years).  Committee consists of seven members serving one-year terms.  Chair of the committee is the immediate ILA past president.  Members serve as ballot counters, once ballots have been received, and inform the candidates of the election results.

2015 Chair

Su Erickson (serving during 2015)
Robert Morris University
905 Meridian Lake Dr.
Aurora, IL  60504
phone:  630-375-8209
fax:  630-375-8193
e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


2015 Members

Halle Cox
Jeanne Hamilton
John Moranski
Jane Paula Plass
Matthew Suddarth
Susan Swords Steffen 

1. Nominating Committee shall be appointed by the Executive Board and consist of no more than seven persons (representative of the diverse constituencies of ILA and geographic regions in Illinois).  See ILA Bylaws, Article IX, Section 3.

2. The Nominating Committee is chaired by the immediate ILA past president.  She/he is responsible for calling meetings and selecting nominees.  The slate must be selected by December 20 each year in order to meet ILA Reporter February deadlines.

3. Each forum may submit to the Nominating Committee a list of up to three (3) of its members to be considered for nomination to the Executive Board.  See ILA Bylaws, Article IX, Section 4.

4. In selecting candidates, the Nominating Committee will use a “pairing” system for board election to reflect the Illinois library community’s diverse constituencies.  Our diverse constituencies include, but are not limited to racial and ethnic diversity, age, gender, sexual orientation, geographic diversity, type of library worker, and trustee representation.  Pairing requires two candidates who reflect these diversities for each of the designated seats up for election.  The board will always have at least one member representing academic librarianship, one representing special librarianship, one representing school librarianship, and one representing public libraries.  The ILA presidency will be rotated with public librarians being limited to serving two out of any three years

5. ILA office sends a test e-mail to all current individual members.  This fulfills two functions: informing members of the upcoming election and process, and to catch bad addresses.  Members may also request a paper ballot instead of an electronic ballot at this time.  January 1.

6. The slate of nominees along with the procedures for nominations by petition will be published in the February issue of the ILA Reporter.

7. Nominations by petition must be received in the ILA office no later than March 1.

8. Chair of the Nominating Committee will secure biographical information (4,000 character maximum) from all candidates no later than March 5.

9. Chair of the Nominating Committee prepares the ballot and biographical information in an order to be established by lot and forwards to the ILA office no later than March 15.

10. The ILA office will print and mail a ballot, biographical information, and a return envelope to members requesting paper ballots or without e-mail addresses.

11. Election polls open on April 1.  Automated e-mail messages linking to online ballot go out; paper ballots are mailed to “non-e-mail” members and members requesting a paper ballot; any e-mail bounce backs after announcement message is transmitted are immediately converted to paper ballot.

12. Reminder e-mail to members that have not yet voted is sent on April 22.

13. Ballots must be returned to the ILA office no later than thirty (30) days after the postmarked date on the ballot.

14. The Nominating Committee chair will arrange for counting ballots and determining of those elected in accordance with the bylaws.

15. The Nominating Committee will be responsible for notifying all candidates of election results by phone.  The ILA office will mail the vote tally to all candidates.