You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Illinois Association of College & Research Libraries Forum (IACRL)

IACRL Newsletter
Volume 37, Issue 1, Spring 2014

View Issue

Please visit the new IACRL website for more information on the Illinois Association of College and Research Libraries.

For Immediate Release

Carla Tracy, director of the Thomas Tredway Library at  Augustana College, has been awarded the Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award for 2013.
 The award, presented by the Illinois Library Association and the Illinois Association of College and Research Libraries Forum, recognizes an Illinois academic librarian who is making an outstanding statewide contribution to academic or research librarianship and to library development. The award is sponsored by the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois. 
Carla Tracy has been director of the library at Augustana since 2003. Prior to holding that position, she served as interim director (2002-2003), collection development coordinator (1997-2003), reference coordinator (1995-1997), and reference librarian (1994-1995). Under Carla’s leadership, the library staff has played a key role in integrating information literacy into the requirements for the general education program and new college-wide  outcomes, increased the number of student instruction sessions to roughly 300 per year, promoted undergraduate research with primary sources in special collections, begun an assessment program to evaluate information literacy instruction, and engaged in a major renovation and expansion project as part of the college’s creation of the Center for Student Life (CSL). In particular, during the CSL process, Carla has fostered an environment of respect and open communication and has displayed tremendous grit and patience. The Thomas Tredway Library received the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award in 2006. 
Carla has been heavily involved in a number of library organizations, particularly in Illinois, over the course of her career, including serving as member and chair of the CARLI Board of Directors, secretary of IACRL, and member of a number of CARLI and IACRL committees. In addition to her work with Illinois library associations, Carla regularly attends the annual Oberlin Group library directors’ meeting. Her commitment to library service and leadership in the profession can been seen in her publications and presentations at statewide and national library conferences. 
The Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award will be presented at the Illinois Library Association Annual Conference Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, October 15, 2013 at 12:00 noon at the Navy Pier Conference Center in Chicago, Illinois. 
For further information, contact the Illinois Library Association. 


IACRL Manager, 2014-2015

Andrew T. Lenaghan
Joliet Junior College
Learning Resource Center
1215 Houbolt Rd.
Joliet, IL 60431
phone:  815-280-2534
e-mail:   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Board Liaison

Rob Morrison